Chrome 14 Beta’s Inspector Takes A Play From Opera’s Dragonfly

With the current pace of development in the various Browser camps, it is no surprise that the developers tend to run out of original ideas moving at such a fast pace. The result is that the browser makers begin to look to each other for potential features to include in their own Google Chrome 14 Beta just took a play from Opera’s Dragonfly with a new settings dialog.

Opera Dragonfly, was released several months ago and has had mixed reception with the developer community. I for one love it for many reason, but I most often feel the Webkit Inspector does a better job in some regards. So was surprised when I noticed this new feature in Chrome’s Inspector when I run it this morning.

See Settings button in lower right corner

A new settings icon wedged nicely in the bottom right corner of the window. It intrigued me so I decide to click on it, and the following UI came up.

Chrome's Webkit Inspector Settings Overlay

I fell to the floor laughing because in many ways, I expected Chrome to have been more original. See Opera’s setting dialog from Dragonfly below.

Opera Dragonfly's Settings Overlay

You’ll immediately notice that Chrome’s settings dialog is not as full featured as Opera’s, but I believe in due course more settings will be added and the UI will be polished a bit more.

Personally, this tells me Google Must think Opera’s Dragonfly is much better in some regards than its own inspector if they’ve started to borrow features. I use Chrome’s Inspector more than Dragonfly on a daily basis because of current work which is Chrome specific, but use Opera’s Dragonfly more when doing my personal projects. Both are really good, but I think I’m going to start using Dragonfly more, because Google seems to be hinting its got something they haven’t. Just saying, lol!

UPDATE: This post got me to check out Opera’s newest Release Candidate for Dragonfly and I must say the developments are outstanding. Finally, just like in the Webkit Inspector, we can expand objects printed out to the console. I guess this probably what have gotten Google to take a second look at its Inspector.

